Thursday 24 September 2020 7:30PM

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Saygun, Britten, Kodály and Kurtág


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Jean-Guihen Queyras focuses on the large catalogue of works for solo cello, including a major work by Benjamin Britten (his final cello suite) alongside Kodály’s 1915 sonata with influences from Debussy, Bartók and Hungarian folk music and a 1955 work by Saygun.

  • Ahmet Adnan Saygun (1907-1991)
        • Partita for solo cello Op. 31
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Cello Suite No. 3 Op. 87
  • Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)
        • Sonata for solo cello Op. 8
  • Encore
  • György Kurtág (b.1926)
      • Signs, Games and Messages
        • Árnyak

We also recommend