Monday 28 October 2019 1:00PM

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello; Alexandre Tharaud piano

Bach, Marais, Poulenc and Debussy

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
  • Alexandre Tharaud piano

Jean-Guihen Queyras is a cellist of versatility, here presenting a programme of works including a duo written during the Great War and a selection from Marais’ 'Pieces de violes 3e livre' first published in 1711.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Sonata in D for cello and piano BWV1028
  • Marin Marais (1656-1728)
        • Prélude
        • Couplets de folies (Les folies d'Espagne)
        • Sarabande grave
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
        • Suite française
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Cello Sonata
  • Encore
  • Rodion Konstantinovich Shchedrin (b.1932)
        • In the Style of Albéniz

We also recommend