Sunday 21 May 2017 7:30PM

Jerusalem Quartet

Dvořák and Prokofiev


  • Jerusalem Quartet

Dvořák’s Terzetto for two violins and viola, written within a week’s span in 1887, provides a novel opening for a string quartet concert. The work’s folk-like tunes ideally complement the melodious classicism of Prokofiev’s First String Quartet, commissioned by the Washington Library of Congress in 1930.

The Jerusalem Quartet concludes with Dvořák’s sonorous Op. 106, a work of dazzling inventive genius.

  • Supported by the Sir Jack Lyons Charitable Trust
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
        • Terzetto in C major Op. 74
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • String Quartet No. 1 in B minor Op. 50
  • Interval
  • Antonín Dvořák
        • String Quartet in G major Op. 106

Related Series

We also recommend