Thursday 31 March 2022 7:30PM

Jerusalem Quartet



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Jerusalem Quartet
  • Alexander Pavlovsky violin
  • Sergei Bresler violin
  • Ori Kam viola
  • Kyril Zlotnikov cello

The early D major quartet was composed between 1798 and 1800 and though placed third in the set seems to have been the first to be composed. From Beethoven’s middle period comes the third of the ‘Razumovsky’ quartets, which dates from 1808. Unlike the other two in the sequence, it contains no specifically Russian theme, but Russian traits have been suggested in the sparse textures of the second movement. One of the great works of the final period is the C sharp minor piece (1826), in which the composer’s originality of vision reaches a high point.

  • Supported by The Dorset Foundation - in memory of Harry M Weinrebe

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • String Quartet No. 3 in D Op. 18 No. 3
      • String Quartet No. 9 in C Op. 59 No. 3 'Razumovsky'
  • Interval
      • String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor Op. 131

We also recommend