Thursday 2 June 2022 7:30PM

Jess Gillam Ensemble

Alex Baranowski, Bach, Björk and more


Slight Change of Programme and Running Order

The programme and the running order of the above concert has changed slightly and will now be as follows.

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jess Gillam Ensemble

Acclaimed saxophonist Jess Gillam is joined by a small ensemble comprising musicians from a wide range of musical backgrounds but all with roots in classical music. The Jess Gillam Ensemble includes Ciaran McCabe & Michael Jones (violins); Eoin Schmidt-Martin (viola); Gabriella Swallow (cello); Sam Becker (bass); Elsa Bradley (percussion) and Leif Kaner-Lidstrom (piano).

The Ensemble will explore established works alongside brand new pieces written especially for the group, including music by Will Gregory (Goldfrapp), Piazzolla, Meredith Monk, Kurt Weill, Bjork, Luke Howard, Joby Talbot and more.

  • James Blake (b.1988)
      • Retrograde
        • (arranged by Benjamin Rimmer/Alex Maydew)
  • Will Gregory (b.1959)
      • Orbit
  • Nico Muhly (b.1981)
      • Pressure of Speech
  • Alex Baranowski (b.1983)
      • New work
  • Ryuichi Sakamoto (b.1952)
      • Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
        • (arranged by John Metcalfe)
  • Ástor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
      • Histoire du Tango
        • Bordel 1900 (arranged by Simon Parkin)
        • Café 1930 (arranged by Simon Parkin)
        • Nightclub 1960 (arranged by Simon Parkin)
  • Interval
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)
      • Flute Concerto in A minor Wq. 166
        • Allegro assai
  • Thom Yorke (b.1968)
      • Suspirium
        • (arranged by Benjamin Rimmer)
  • Björk (b.1965)
      • Venus as a Boy
        • (arranged by John Metcalfe)
  • Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen
      • Shine You No More
        • (arranged by Simon Parkin)
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Violin Sonata No. 3 in E BWV1016
        • Adagio ma non tanto (arranged by Mats Lidström)
  • John Harle (b.1956)
      • Flare

We also recommend