Monday 21 September 2020 7:30PM

Jess Gillam saxophone; MILOŠ guitar

Dowland, Glass, Villa-Lobos and more


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. Watch live here

All concerts in the Autumn Series will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert.

Log in or create an account on our website to access live streams and our video library. Creating an account only takes two minutes.

  • Jess Gillam saxophone
  • MILOŠ guitar

As guitarist MILOŠ meets saxophonist and broadcaster Jess Gillam, two charismatic musicians, each with a substantial and growing following, join together for a programme running from the 16th to the 20th centuries that demonstrates the range of their musical interests, including Piazzolla’s Histoire du Tango which conveys the history and evolution of the tango in four movements.

  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • Preludium
        • Flow my tears
  • Philip Glass (b.1937)
        • Melody
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959)
      • 5 Preludes
        • Prelude No. 1 in E minor
        • Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5
  • Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)
      • El sombrero de tres picos
        • Danza del Molinero
      • 7 canciones populares españolas
        • El paño moruno
        • Seguidilla murciana
        • Asturiana
        • Jota
        • Nana
        • Canción
        • Polo
  • Meredith Monk (b.1942)
        • Early morning melody
  • Harold Arlen (1905-1986)
      • The Wizard of Oz
        • Over the Rainbow (arr. Toru Takemitsu)
  • Ástor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
      • Histoire du Tango
        • Bordel 1900
        • Café 1930
        • Nightclub 1960

Related Series