Thursday 4 January 2018 7:30PM

Jörg Widmann; Tabea Zimmermann; Dénes Várjon

Schumann, Widmann and Mozart

Additional notes

There is a pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 6:00pm

Booking information

£5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s More Information


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jörg Widmann clarinet
  • Tabea Zimmermann viola
  • Dénes Várjon piano

Fairy-tale visions and dream pictures colour Schumann’s Märchenbilder and transcendent Märchenerzählungen, works packed with surging emotional contrasts. Be sure to catch the fantasy worlds of Jörg Widmann’s ‘Fantasie’ and ‘Es war einmal’, sparkling highlights of his Wigmore Hall Residency.

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Märchenerzählungen Op. 132
  • Jörg Widmann (b.1973)
        • Es war einmal (Fünf Stücke im Märchenton) (UK première) [1]
  • Interval
  • Jörg Widmann
        • Fantasie for solo clarinet
  • Robert Schumann
        • Märchenbilder Op. 113
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Clarinet Trio in E flat major K498 'Kegelstatt'
  1. Co-commissioned by Tonhalle Zürich; Bozar Music; Musée du Louvre; and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend