Monday 22 November 2021 1:00PM

Johan Dalene violin; Nicola Eimer piano

Prokofiev, Rautavaara and Ravel


Watch this concert in HD video until 22 December 2021: Watch

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Johan Dalene violin is a member of Radio 3's New Generation Artists scheme
  • Nicola Eimer piano

Winner of the first prize at the 2019 Carl Nielsen competition, and this year completing his term as a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, the young Swedish violinist joins with the British Juilliard School graduate pianist for a programme of 20th-century music, including a two-movement work (1993) by the Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara that was in turn a source for the composer’s Angel of Light Symphony (1994).

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in G
  • Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-2016)
      • Notturno e danza
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Op. 94bis

We also recommend