Saturday 28 May 2022 1:00PM

Jonathan Biss piano

Beethoven, György Kurtág and Schubert


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


Approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval.


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jonathan Biss piano

A profoundly thoughtful and articulate musician whose previous appearances at Wigmore Hall focusing on Beethoven’s sonatas were extremely well received, and who is equally admired for his free, online Coursera lecture series Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas, once more turns his attention to the great master. In addition, he encompasses a selection of György Kurtág’s ‘pedagogical performance pieces’ Games, a series the composer began in 1973 and which he continues today.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Piano Sonata in C minor D958
  • György Kurtág (b.1926)
      • Játékok
        • Un brin de bruyère a Witold
        • Fanfare to Judit Maros' wedding
        • Hommàge à Jeney (Phone Numbers of our Loved Ones I)
        • (... and round and round it goes)
        • Hommage à Schubert
        • La Fille aux cheveux de lin - enragée
      • Márta ligaturája
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Piano Sonata No. 27 in E minor Op. 90
      • Piano Sonata No. 31 in A flat Op. 110

We also recommend