Sunday 2 December 2018 7:30PM

Jonathan Plowright piano

Brahms and Bach


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Jonathan Plowright piano

Music in the French and Italian styles by Johann Sebastian Bach intersperses three sets of variations by Brahms written in his twenties, which reach a creative high point in his masterly variations on a movement from a harpsichord suite by Handel.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Variations on a Hungarian Song Op. 21 No. 2
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • French Suite No. 5 in G BWV816
  • Johannes Brahms
        • Variations on an Original Theme Op. 21 No. 1
  • Interval
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
        • Italian Concerto in F BWV971
  • Johannes Brahms
        • Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Handel Op. 24

We also recommend