Thursday 22 October 2020 7:30PM

Jonathan Plowright piano

Brahms, Chopin and Paderewski


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Jonathan Plowright piano

The authoritative Brahms performer has devised a format in which works by the German late-Romantic master are heard alongside those of one of his major contemporaries or predecessors, thereby shedding light on both.

Here the second figure is Chopin, in some ways a contrasting figure to Brahms, but one whose devotion to the piano was absolute: every one of his works includes the piano, and the vast majority are for piano alone.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor Op. 5
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
      • Scherzo No. 2 in B flat minor Op. 31
  • Johannes Brahms
      • 3 Intermezzi Op. 117
      • Scherzo in E flat minor Op. 4
  • Encore
  • Ignacy Jan Paderewski (1860-1941)
      • Miscellanea Op. 16
        • Légende No. 1 in A flat No. 1