Sunday 11 November 2018 7:30PM

Joshua Bell violin; Academy of St Martin in the Fields

Mendelssohn and Enescu


  • Joshua Bell violin
  • Academy of St Martin in the Fields chamber ensemble

A double helping of youthful string octets, with the ever popular Mendelssohn work – composed when he was a mere 16 – succeeded by another by George Enescu that dates from 1900, when the Romanian composer was just three years older.

  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • Octet in E flat Op. 20
  • Interval
  • George Enescu (1881-1955)
        • String Octet in C Op. 7

Related Series

We also recommend