Friday 25 March 2022 7:30PM

Joshua Bell violin; Shai Wosner piano

Beethoven, Ravel and Schubert


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Joshua Bell violin
  • Shai Wosner piano

Both admired and busy artists in their own right, the violinist and his pianist partner join together for a programme which includes three major works of the duo literature, including the Beethoven sonata, composed in 1801-2, and Schubert’s similarly substantial so-called ‘Grand Duo’, composed in August 1817 but not published until 1851 nor performed publicly until 1864. Ravel’s Second Sonata (1923-7) is a work much influenced by jazz and blues.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Violin Sonata in A D574 'Grand Duo'
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor Op. 30 No. 2
  • Interval
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in G
    • Additional works to be announced from the stage

We also recommend