Friday 25 March 2022 7:30PM

Joshua Bell violin; Shai Wosner piano

Beethoven, Bloch, Ravel and Schubert


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Change of Programme 
The programme of the above concert has changed and will now be as follows:


  • Joshua Bell violin
  • Shai Wosner piano

Both admired and busy artists in their own right, the violinist and his pianist partner join together for a programme which includes three major works of the duo literature, including the Beethoven sonata, composed in 1801-2, and Schubert’s similarly substantial so-called ‘Grand Duo’, composed in August 1817 but not published until 1851 nor performed publicly until 1864. Ravel’s Second Sonata (1923-7) is a work much influenced by jazz and blues.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Violin Sonata (Sonatina) in D D384
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor Op. 30 No. 2
  • Interval
  • Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)
      • Baal Shem
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in G

We also recommend