Sunday 25 September 2016 7:30PM

Angela Hewitt piano


Additional notes

There is a pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 6:00pm


  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Angela Hewitt piano

So often Bach opens the door to music that appears to inhabit the outer reaches of human consciousness, with sounds deeply felt yet rarely heard.

The divinely-inspired composer’s keyboard fantasies, inventions and sinfonias provide the creative launch pad for Angela Hewitt’s glorious The Bach Odyssey. Her recital also includes the Capriccio in Bb, Bach’s only surviving piece of programme music.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Fantasia and Fugue in C minor BWV906
        • I. Fantasia
        • Aria variata BWV989
        • 15 Inventions BWV772-786
  • Interval
        • 15 Sinfonias BWV787-801
        • Capriccio in B flat major (Capriccio on the Departure of his Most Beloved Brother) BWV992
        • Capriccio in E major BWV993
        • Fantasia and Fugue in A minor BWV904
  • Encore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Goldberg Variations BWV988
        • Aria da capo

We also recommend