Saturday 6 June 2015 7:30PM

Aurora Orchestra; Nicholas Collon conductor; Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano

Mendelssohn, Judith Weir and Copland


  • Aurora Orchestra
  • Nicholas Collon conductor
  • Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano

Judith Weir recently made headline news following her appointment as Master of the Queen’s Music, the first woman to hold this ancient royal position.

The world première of her work is presented in company with Mendelssohn’s Octet and Copland’s Appalachian Spring, performed in its original version for thirteen instruments – two pulsating compositions marked by bold ideas, intense energy and joy.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Octet in E flat major Op. 20
  • Interval
  • Judith Weir (b.1954)
        • Good Morning, Midnight (world première) [1]
  • Aaron Copland (1900-1990)
        • Appalachian Spring
  1. Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend