Sunday 10 November 2013 11:30AM

Julian Bliss clarinet; Robert Bottriell piano

Françaix, Schumann, Brahms, Chopin and Prokofiev


  • Julian Bliss clarinet
  • Robert Bottriell piano

Armed with an exceptional imagination, divine technical abilities and a true artist’s devotion to beauty and truth, Julian Bliss stands among the finest performers of his generation. The British clarinettist, born in 1989, returns to Wigmore Hall with a programme crowned by his arrangement of Prokofiev’s wartime Sonata Op. 94, originally written for flute in 1942 and refashioned for violin the following year.

  • Jean Françaix (1912-1997)
        • Tema con variazioni for clarinet and piano
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Fantasiestücke Op. 73
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Fünf Lieder Op. 105
        • No. 1 Wie Melodien zieht es mir (arr. Julian Bliss )
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
      • Nocturnes Op. 9
        • No. 2 Nocturne in E flat major (arr. Julian Bliss )
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Sonata in D major Op. 94 (arr. Julian Bliss )

We also recommend