Friday 14 February 2020 7:30PM

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Strauss, F Mendelssohn, Schumann and more


  • Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective
  • Mark Simpson clarinet
  • Amy Harman bassoon
  • Elena Urioste violin
  • Juan-Miguel Hernandez viola
  • Laura van der Heijden cello
  • Joseph Conyers double bass
  • Alec Frank-Gemmill horn
  • Tom Poster piano

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective is an exciting and energising collaboration of musicians, each established performers in their own right. The group contains the BBC Young Musician of the Year winner from 2006 and the winner from 2012, the principal bass of The Philadelphia Orchestra, a BBC New Generation Artist, Principal Bassoon for Aurora Orchestra and Principal Horn of the Scottish Chamber orchestra. Kaleidoscope’s primary aim is to bring wonderful musicians together to perform but with a specific and ardent commitment to celebrating diversity of as many forms as possible - of nationality, skin colour, gender, orientation, age and social background. In this, their debut concert at Wigmore Hall, the collective will focus on repertoire from the Romantic era.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders (arr. Franz Hasenöhrl)
  • Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847)
        • Fantasia in G minor for cello and piano
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Adagio and Allegro in A flat Op. 70
  • Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka (1804-1857)
        • Trio pathétique
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Piano Quintet in A D667 'The Trout'
  • Encore
  • Richard Rodgers (1902-1979)
      • Babes in Arms
        • My Funny Valentine (arr. Tom Poster)

We also recommend