Monday 31 May 2021 7:30PM

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective ; Mary Bevan soprano

Fauré, Mendelssohn and Price


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD and will be available on demand for 90 days after the date of the concert. Watch live here

  • Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective
  • Mary Bevan soprano

Wigmore Hall’s 120th anniversary is brought to life with a varied and interesting programme. The Hall’s Associate Ensemble is joined by soprano Mary Bevan for Fauré’s sublime La bonne chanson, presented in the composer’s rarely performed arrangement for voice, piano and string quintet. The Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective encloses this work with Florence Price’s virtually unknown Piano Quintet, with its third movement’s Juba dance structure, and Mendelssohn’s 1824 Sextet in D.

  • Florence Price (1887-1953)
      • Piano Quintet in A minor
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
      • La bonne chanson Op. 61 version for voice, string quintet and piano
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Sextet in D Op. 110