Sunday 13 November 2022 11:30AM

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Coleridge-Taylor and Vaughan Williams


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£16concs£14including coffee/sherry/juice

Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective
  • Armand Djikoloum oboe
  • Matthew Hunt clarinet
  • Amy Harman bassoon
  • Ben Goldscheider horn
  • Elena Urioste violin
  • Rosalind Ventris viola
  • Laura van der Heijden cello
  • Joseph Conyers double bass
  • Tom Poster piano

Two pupils of Stanford at the Royal College of Music are celebrated in this programme. The ensemble makes a further contribution to the Vaughan Williams anniversary celebrations with his 1903-5 quintet written for the same combination as Schubert’s ‘Trout’ Quintet, following it with a work by his younger contemporary Coleridge-Taylor, composed in 1893, which was first performed at the College in 1895. On the title-page the composer wrote the words ‘Gradus ad Parnassum’ – referring to the Steps to Parnassus he would undertake to climb.

  • This concert is supported by the Endowment Fund
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
      • Piano Quintet in C minor
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
      • Nonet in F minor Op. 2

We also recommend