Wednesday 30 September 2020 7:30PM

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective; Matthew Rose bass

Schubert, Glinka, Borodin and more


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. Watch live here

All concerts in the Autumn Series will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert.

Log in or create an account on our website to access live streams and our video library. Creating an account only takes two minutes.

  • Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective
  • Matthew Rose bass
  • Elena Urioste violin
  • Savitri Grier violin
  • Rosalind Ventris viola
  • Laura van der Heijden cello
  • Tom Poster piano

Wigmore Hall’s new Associate Artists, the Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective presents a programme that surveys differing aspects of love. The vocal works explore the darker and more intense aspects of love and are bookended by brilliant and optimistic instrumental works. Kate Whitley’s beautiful setting of a poem by Sabrina Mahfouz was written especially for Matthew.

  • Supported by John and Amy Ford
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Adagio and Rondo concertante in F major D487
  • Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka (1804-1857)
        • Doubt
  • Aleksandr Porfir'yevich Borodin (c.1833-1887)
        • The Pretty Girl no longer Loves me
  • Kate Whitley (b.1990)
        • This is My Love Poem for You
  • George Walker (1922-2018)
        • Lyric for Strings
  • Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
        • Dover Beach
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
        • Piano Quintet in E Op. 15

Related Series