Friday 15 November 1901 8:00PM

Kathleen Bruckshaw piano

Handel, JS Bach, Scarlatti, Beethoven and Chopin


  • Kathleen Bruckshaw piano

Returning to Wigmore Hall after making her debut in the opening season, London pianist and composer Kathleen Bruckshaw gave an evening recital of time-honoured works by Handel, Bach, Beethoven and Chopin, as well as Carl Tausig's arrangements of two Scarlatti Sonatas. Although she was successful as a concert pianist, with critics praising her poetic performance and refined tone, her career in composition (encouraged by Edward MacDowell, with whom she corresponded regularly) became increasingly important to her, limiting her public performances, and it would be nine years before she was heard on the stage here again.

  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Suite D minor HWV428
        • I. Prelude
        • V. Air and variations
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • The Well-tempered Clavier Book I, Prelude and Fugue No. 5 in D major BWV850
  • Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757 )
        • Sonata in D minor Kk9 'Pastorale' (arr. Carl Tausig)
        • Sonata in E major Kk20 'Capriccio' (arr. Carl Tausig)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Piano Sonata No. 31 in A flat major Op. 110
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
        • Ballade No. 3 in A flat major Op. 47
        • Waltz in C sharp minor Op. 64 No. 2
        • Nocturne in G major Op. 37 No. 2
        • Prelude in D minor Op. 28 No. 24
        • Prelude in F sharp major Op. 28 No. 13
        • Fantasy in F minor Op. 49

We also recommend