Sunday 7 June 2020 11:30AM

Cancelled: Kopelman Quartet

Borodin, Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich


Cancelled Concert
In response to advice from Public Health England, Wigmore Hall will be closed from Tuesday 17 March. This event has therefore been cancelled.

Read a full statement from Wigmore Hall Director John Gilhooly.


  • Kopelman Quartet

In the 1970s the quartet’s members were all students at the Moscow Conservatory, but it was only 25 years later that they came together to form an ensemble. Their programme consists of two major Romantic Russian pieces plus Shostakovich’s earliest work for the medium.

  • Aleksandr Porfir'yevich Borodin (c.1833-1887)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in D
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
        • String Quartet No. 1 in D Op. 11
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • 2 pieces for string quartet

We also recommend