Sunday 17 February 2013 11:30AM

Kuss Quartet

Mozart and Janáček


  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Kuss Quartet

Great literature inspired Janácek’s operatic output and influenced many of his instrumental works. The Czech composer’s imagination was fired by Tolstoy’s novella The Kreutzer Sonata, which recounts the terrible consequences when a husband discovers an extra-marital affair between his aristocratic wife and a violinist and murders her with a dagger.

The Berlin-based Kuss Quartet prefaces Janácek’s work with the first of Mozart’s ‘Prussian’ Quartets, which contains delightful echoes of the composer’s popular song ‘Das Veilchen’.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • String Quartet No. 21 in D major K575 'Prussian'
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • String Quartet No. 1 'Kreutzer Sonata'

We also recommend