Wednesday 23 June 2021 7:30PM

La Serenissima

Carte rouge: Albinoni at 350


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • La Serenissima
  • Adrian Chandler director, violin
  • Oliver Cave violin
  • Agata Daraskaite violin
  • Simone Pirri violin
  • Elitsa Bogdanova viola
  • Thomas Kettle viola
  • Jonathan Manson cello
  • Zaynab Martin violone
  • Robin Bigwood harpsichord

​There can be few worse fates for a composer than being remembered for a piece you didn’t write. Considering Albinoni’s lowly origins as a manufacturer of playing cards, some might argue that fate has dealt him a reasonable hand; others would argue he deserves better.

Albinoni’s Opus 2 was published in 1700 and marked a watershed in music history. The set of sinfonias and concertos pays homage to the seventeenth century whilst also heralding the arrival of the settecento. The sinfonias are here presented alongside works by two other Venetian masters, Legrenzi and Vivaldi.

  • Giovanni Legrenzi (1626-1690)
      • 16 Sonatas Op. 8
        • Sonata La Squarzona for 4 violins and continuo
        • Sonata La Cremona for 4 violins and continuo
      • La cetra Op. 10
        • Sonata in A minor for 4 violins
      • Balletti e Correnti a cinque stromenti Op. 16
        • Balletto & Corrente I in D minor
        • Balletto & Corrente VII in D
        • Balletto & Corrente IX in B flat
  • Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751)
      • Sinfonie e Concerti a 5 Op. 2
        • Sonata II in C
        • Sonata VI in G minor
        • Sonata I in G
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
      • L'estro armonico RV567
      • L'estro armonico RV565
      • L'estro armonico RV549

We also recommend