Sunday 24 April 2022 7:30PM

Lawrence Power viola, director; Collegium

'Once upon a time...'


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Lawrence Power viola, director
  • Collegium
  • Charlotte Spruit violin
  • Yaore Talibart violin
  • Katherine Yoon violin
  • Hana Mizuta Spencer violin
  • Esther Park violin
  • Roman Lytwyniw violin
  • Otoha Tabata viola
  • Madeleine Pickering viola
  • Kinga Wojdalska viola
  • Wallis Power cello
  • Hugh Mackay cello
  • Harry Atkinson double bass
  • Will Duerden double bass
  • Louis Moisan lute

One of the world’s leading viola players, Lawrence Power founded the string orchestra Collegium back in 2018, its members often performing at another of the musician’s creations, the West Wycombe Chamber Music Festival, which has itself now run for a decade. Intriguing programming with works from the Baroque to the contemporary and including a piece by the leading Austrian composer and pianist Thomas Larcher.

  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • Timon of Athens Z632
        • Curtain Tune
  • Thomas Larcher (b.1963)
      • Nucleus
  • Matthew Locke (c.1621-1677)
      • The Tempest
        • Curtain Tune
  • Cage (1912-1992)
      • Living Room Music
        • Story
  • John Woolrich (b.1954)
      • Ulysses Awakes
        • (based on Claudio Monteverdi)
  • Luke Bedford (b.1978)
      • Wonderful Two-Headed Nightingale
  • Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)
      • The Yellow Cake Revue Op. 88
        • Farewell to Stromness
  • Interval
  • Cassandra Miller (b.1976)
      • Just So
  • Heinrich Biber (1644-1704)
      • Battalia a10
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • Chamber Symphony in C minor Op. 110a
        • (transcribed by Barshai)

We also recommend