Friday 21 January 2022 7:30PM

Lawrence Power viola, violin; Matthew Hunt clarinet; Huw Watkins piano

Bartók, Huw Watkins, Schumann and Thomas Adès


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Lawrence Power viola, violin Associate Artists
  • Matthew Hunt clarinet
  • Huw Watkins piano

Dream (2006) has been described as ‘a trio combining gentle, hypnotic music with more troubled outbursts, evoking moods associated with night and sleep’. As part of his residency at the 2011 Heimbach Festival, Watkins was commissioned by artistic director Lars Vogt to write a new work for viola, clarinet and piano, resulting in Speak Seven Seas. 3 Postcards for solo viola dates from 2020.

  • Huw Watkins (b.1976)
      • 3 Postcards
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Märchenerzählungen Op. 132
  • Huw Watkins
      • Dream
  • Thomas Adès (b.1971)
      • 3 Berceuses for viola, clarinet and piano
        • (UK première)
  • Interval
  • Huw Watkins
      • 5 Duos
      • Speak Seven Seas
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
      • Contrasts for violin, clarinet and piano BB116

We also recommend