Sunday 20 November 2022 7:30PM

Leif Ove Andsnes piano

Beethoven, Dvořák, Janáček and Vustin


This concert is repeated on Monday 21 November 7:30PM


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Leif Ove Andsnes piano

His programme includes a work by the Russian composer Alexander Vustin, who died of Covid complications in 2020 at the age of 76. Unusual, too, are Dvořák’s Poetic Tone Pictures – an extended cycle of 13 pictures all with a descriptive title, composed in 1889. His younger compatriot Janáček wrote his sole piano sonata in response to the death of a young carpenter killed while demonstrating for a Czech university in Brno.

  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • Piano Sonata 1. X. 1905 ('From the Street')
  • Aleksandr Vustin (1943-2020)
      • Lamento
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Piano Sonata No. 31 in A flat Op. 110
  • Interval
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Poetic Tone Pictures Op. 85

We also recommend