Wednesday 15 September 2021 7:30PM

Leif Ove Andsnes piano; Christian Tetzlaff violin

Bartók, Dvorák and Lutoslawski


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Leif Ove Andsnes piano
  • Christian Tetzlaff violin

Collaborating with a regular pianist partner, the German violinist’s residency opens with a recital ranging from Dvořák’s late-Romanticism to the modernism of Bartók and Lutosławski. The former’s masterpiece was written for Jelly d’Arányi, and premièred by her and the composer in London in 1922. Of tonight’s performers’ recording of the piece, the BBC’s Andrew McGregor wrote: ‘As a duo they’re breathtaking, with Tetzlaff soaring sweetly over Bartók’s gritty piano part’.

  • in partnership with and supported by the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in London
  • Witold Lutosławski (1913-1994)
      • Partita for violin and piano
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Violin Sonata in F Op. 57
  • Interval
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
      • Violin Sonata No. 1 BB84

We also recommend