Sunday 1 October 2017 7:30PM

Leila Josefowicz; John Novacek

Sibelius, Mahler, Kaija Saariaho and more

Additional notes

Change of Running Order
The running order for this concert has been changed from previously advertised and is now confirmed as below.

Booking information

This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Leila Josefowicz violin
  • John Novacek piano

Reviewers have written of the alchemy that unites Leila Josefowicz’s duo partnership and John Novacek. The Arts Desk praised their last appearance at Wigmore Hall in 2015 for its ‘huge panache and professional energy’ and for their musicmaking’s daring spontaneity.

They return with a programme of works hallmarked by dark introspection and powerful emotions, including arrangements of profoundly meditative orchestral pieces by Sibelius and Mahler, Kaija Saariaho’s mystical Calices and two compelling 20th-century takes on the sonata.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
      • 2 Pieces from Kuolema Op. 44
        • I. Valse Triste (arr. Friedrich Hermann)
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor Op. 80
  • Interval
  • Kaija Saariaho (b. 1952)
        • Calices
  • Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
      • Symphony No. 5
        • IV. Adagietto (arr. Otto Wittenbecher)
  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann (1918-1970)
        • Sonata for violin and piano

We also recommend