Monday 21 January 2019 1:00PM

Leila Josefowicz violin; John Novacek piano

Sibelius, Prokofiev, Knussen, Mahler and Zimmermann


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Leila Josefowicz violin
  • John Novacek piano

Keen advocates of 20th-century and contemporary music, the duo offers one of the last compositions by British-born Oliver Knussen, alongside Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s powerfully expressive sonata.

  • Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
        • Valse Triste Op. 44 No. 1 (arr. Friedrich Hermann)
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
      • Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor Op. 80
        • II. Allegro brusco
  • Oliver Knussen (1952-2018)
        • Reflection for violin and piano
  • Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
      • Symphony No. 5
        • IV. Adagietto (arr. Otto Wittenbecher)
  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann (1918-1970)
        • Sonata for violin and piano

We also recommend