Saturday 27 June 2015 7:30PM

Cancelled: Leipzig String Quartet

Beethoven, Haydn, Hanna Kulenty and Mendelssohn

Additional notes

Cancelled Concert
Due to unforeseen circumstances, the above concert has been cancelled. There will be no replacement concert. We hope to reschedule the UK première of Hanna Kulenty’s new string quartet in a future season.


  • Leipzig String Quartet

Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge has been described as ‘a poetic discourse of enormous size’, a mighty combination of counterpoint and fantasy that transcends the conventional lines of fugal argument to confront the vastness of the universe.

This great masterwork prefaces the Leipzig String Quartet’s account of Haydn’s ‘swansong’, the fragmentary String Quartet Op. 103, before the ensemble then gives the UK première of a new quartet by the Polish composer Hanna Kulenty.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Grosse Fuge in B flat major Op. 133
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in D minor Op. 103
  • Hanna Kulenty (b.1961)
        • New work (UK première) [1]
  • Interval
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Quartet No. 3 in D major Op. 44 No. 1
  1. Co-commissioned by De Doelen Rotterdam and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend