Wednesday 9 March 2022 7:30PM

Leon McCawley piano

Haydn, Mozart and Schubert


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Leon McCawley piano

The Viennese Classical and early Romantic tradition enfolds this programme, with four major works by three of its central exponents. Haydn’s minor-key sonata from the late 1770s is followed by Mozart’s touchingly personal Rondo (1787) and his final sonata (1789), itself succeeded as the closing item by one of Schubert’s three major works for piano dating from his final year.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • Piano Sonata in E minor HXVI/34
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Rondo in A minor K511
      • Piano Sonata in D K576
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Piano Sonata in A D959

We also recommend