Monday 24 January 2022 7:30PM

Leonidas Kavakos violin; Enrico Pace piano

Martinů, Schubert and Schumann


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Leonidas Kavakos violin
  • Enrico Pace piano

A long-term musical partnership between the violinist and pianist has seen them win especial renown with their cycle of Beethoven sonatas; the New York Times wrote that ‘it is the musicianship that Kavakos and the excellent pianist Enrico Pace contribute that makes the journey so exciting.’ Among their selections in this programme, Martinů’s Third and final sonata is a substantial, four-movement work composed in New York in 1944 and premièred at Carnegie Hall.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Violin Sonata in A D574 'Grand Duo'
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959)
      • Sonata No. 3 for violin and piano
  • Interval
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Violin Sonata No. 2 in D minor Op. 121

Related Series

We also recommend