Tuesday 27 March 2018 7:30PM

Les Arts Florissants; Paul Agnew director, tenor

JS Bach, JC Bach, Kuhnau and JL Bach


  • Les Arts Florissants
  • Paul Agnew director, tenor

As so often during his career, Bach took an established musical genre – the motet – and raised it to perfection.

Paul Agnew directs singers and continuo players from Les Arts Florissants in six of Bach’s surviving motets, setting them alongside Fürchte dich nicht by his cousin Johann Christoph Bach and the deeply touching Tristis est anima mea by his successor in Leipzig.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Komm, Jesu, komm BWV229
        • Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn BWV Anh.159
  • Johann Christoph Bach (1642-1703)
        • Fürchte dich nicht
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
        • Jesu, meine Freude BWV227
  • Interval
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
        • Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden BWV230
  • Johann Kuhnau (1660-1722)
        • Tristis est anima mea
  • Johann Ludwig Bach (1677-1731)
        • Das ist meine Freude
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
        • Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV225

We also recommend