Saturday 24 September 2016 7:30PM

Principal Players of Aurora Orchestra

Ligeti, Strauss, Anna Meredith and Beethoven


  • Principal Players of Aurora Orchestra

Aurora Orchestra’s imaginative programmes and support for new music combine here, aided by a Wigmore Hall commission from Anna Meredith, herself a fearless genre-hopping, boundary-pushing composer, and Ligeti’s Ten pieces for wind quintet, a collection of intense avant-garde miniatures completed in 1968. Beethoven’s Septet still sounds as fresh today as when it was first performed over two centuries ago.

  • György Ligeti (1923-2006)
        • 10 Pieces for wind quintet
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche Op. 28 (arr. Brett Dean for nonet)
  • Anna Meredith (b.1978)
        • Tripotage Miniatures (world première) [1]
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Septet in E flat major Op. 20
  1. Co-commissioned by The Radcliffe Trust, NMC Recordings, and by Wigmore Hall, with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend