Saturday 26 October 2019 7:30PM

Linus Roth violin; Ilona Domnich soprano; Danjulo Ishizaka cello; José Gallardo piano

Weinberg and Shostakovich


Change of Programme and Running Order
The programme and running order for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • Linus Roth violin
  • Ilona Domnich soprano
  • Danjulo Ishizaka cello
  • José Gallardo piano

This evening’s concert rounds off violinist Linus Roth’s focus on the composer Mieczysław Weinberg.

Dating from 1943, Weinberg’s Piano Trio is a relatively early work but already shows a kinship with Shostakovich, who was to prove a source of friendship and support for the rest of his life: Weinberg played the piano in the 1967 première of the Alexander Blok Romances.

  • Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODŁEGLA 2017–2022. Organised in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music and POLSKA 100, the international cultural programme celebrating the centenary of Poland regaining independence.
  • Supported by the Sir Jack Lyons Charitable Trust
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
        • Sonata No. 4 for violin and piano Op. 39
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • 7 Romances on poems by Alexander Blok Op. 127
  • Interval
  • Mieczysław Weinberg
        • Piano Trio Op. 24

We also recommend