Saturday 26 October 2019 11:30AM

Linus Roth violin; José Gallardo piano

Weinberg and Shostakovich


  • Linus Roth violin
  • José Gallardo piano

Opening our Weinberg Focus Day is a programme of music for violin and piano or violin alone: Weinberg’s 1943 First Sonata for both instruments, his 1964 sonata for solo violin and his Largo, as well as an unfinished sonata by Shostakovich, composed in June 1945.

  • Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODŁEGLA 2017–2022. Organised in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music and POLSKA 100, the international cultural programme celebrating the centenary of Poland regaining independence.
  • Supported by the Sir Jack Lyons Charitable Trust
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
        • Sonata No. 1 for violin and piano Op. 12
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Unfinished Violin Sonata
  • Mieczysław Weinberg
        • Sonata No. 1 for violin solo Op. 82
        • Largo for violin and piano

We also recommend