Monday 2 March 2020 1:00PM

Lise Berthaud viola; David Saudubray piano

Schubert, Brahms and Bridge


  • Lise Berthaud viola
  • David Saudubray piano

A widely admired French viola player and her pianist compatriot offer two major pieces actually conceived for other instruments: Schubert’s 1824 sonata was written for the bowed guitar after which it is still named, and has been transcribed for several other instruments; while the 1894 Brahms piece was originally for clarinet.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Arpeggione Sonata in A minor D821 (trans. Ulrich von Wrochem)
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Viola Sonata in F minor Op. 120 No. 1
  • Encore
  • Frank Bridge (1879-1941)
        • Berceuse

We also recommend