Sunday 4 July 2021 3:00PM

Louis Lortie piano; Hélène Mercier piano

Debussy and Ravel


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Louis Lortie piano
  • Hélène Mercier piano

Louis Lortie and Hélène Mercier’s second concert features four great works originally for orchestra. The genesis of Ravel’s Rapsodie espagnole was a Habanera, for two pianos, which Ravel wrote in 1895. It was not published as a separate piece, and in 1907 he composed three companion pieces. A two-piano version was completed by October of that year, and the suite was fully orchestrated the following February. Ravel also made his own a two-piano arrangement of La valse, although in this case, the orchestral composition came first.

  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
      • Prélude à l'après midi d'un faune
      • La mer, 3 symphonic sketches
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Rapsodie espagnole
      • La valse

We also recommend