Sunday 4 July 2021 7:30PM

Louis Lortie piano; Hélène Mercier piano

Rachmaninov and Stravinsky


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Louis Lortie piano
  • Hélène Mercier piano

The third and last of Louis Lortie and Hélène Mercier’s concerts includes Rachmaninov’s Suite written for two pianos, which was initially titled Fantaisie-tableaux because Rachmaninov intended it to consist 'of a series of musical pictures.' The composer’s Symphonic Dances were his last major work; he wrote an arrangement for two pianos concurrently with the orchestral version, which was first performed by the composer with Vladimir Horowitz at a private party in Beverly Hills, California in August 1942. Stravinsky's goal in arranging Petrushka for solo piano (in 1921) was to attempt to influence Arthur Rubinstein into playing his music. In order to gain the latter's attention, Stravinsky ensured that Rubinstein would find the arrangement technically challenging but musically satisfying. Stravinsky made his own version for two pianos in 1947.

  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
      • Suite No. 1 Op. 5
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
      • Petrouchka
        • Danse Russe
        • Chez Petrouchka
        • La semaine grasse
  • Sergey Rachmaninov
      • Symphonic Dances Op. 45

We also recommend