Saturday 8 January 2022 7:30PM

Louis Lortie Presents: Musicians from Chapelle Reine Elisabeth



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Musicians from Chapelle Reine Elisabeth
  • Louis Lortie piano
  • Salih Gevrek piano
  • Hélène Mercier piano

In a second instalment of Liszt’s Beethoven transcriptions, made in 1863-4, and including a two-piano version of the Ninth Symphony, the French-Canadian pianist – himself a renowned Liszt interpreter – joins with regular duo partner Hélène Mercier and the Turkish Salih Can Gevrek – now an artist in residence at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Brussels, inaugurated in 1939 and today recognised internationally as a leading institution for higher musical training.

  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
      • Symphony No. 5 in C minor Op. 67 S464/5 (transcription from Beethoven)
  • Interval
      • Symphony No. 9 in D minor Op. 125 S657 (transcription from Beethoven)

Related Series

We also recommend