Friday 9 October 2020 1:00PM

Louise Alder soprano; Julien Van Mellaerts baritone; Roger Vignoles piano

Berg, Bizet, Mendelssohn, Poulenc and Satie


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Louise Alder soprano
  • Julien Van Mellaerts baritone
  • Roger Vignoles piano

Soprano Louise Alder and pianist Roger Vignoles present a selection of songs by Fanny Mendelssohn, and a cycle of early works by Berg written at the beginning of the 20th century. They then take us to France, exploring Bizet and Satie. They are joined by Julien for an extract from Poulenc’s Les mamelles de Tirésias.

  • Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847)
      • Bergeslust Op. 10 No. 5
      • Warum sind den die Rosen so blass Op. 1 No. 3
      • Nach Süden Op. 10 No. 1
  • Alban Berg (1885-1935)
      • 7 frühe Lieder
  • Georges Bizet (1838-1875)
      • Vingt mélodies Op. 21
        • No. 17 Chant d'amour
      • Ouvre ton coeur
      • Vingt mélodies Op. 21
        • No. 16 La coccinelle
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
      • Métamorphoses
  • Erik Satie (1866-1925)
      • Trois Mélodies
        • La statue de bronze
        • Daphénéo
        • Le chapelier
  • Francis Poulenc
      • Les mamelles de Tirésias
        • Non, Monsieur mon mari
  • Erik Satie
      • Je te veux

We also recommend