Friday 17 December 2021 7:30PM

Magdalena Kožená mezzo-soprano; Ohad Ben-Ari piano

Bartók, Brahms, Dvorák, Martinu and Musorgsky


Download the PDF programme and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Slight Change of Running Order
The running order for this concert has been changed slightly and will now be as below.


  • Magdalena Kožená mezzo-soprano
  • Ohad Ben-Ari piano

Performing in tandem with the Israeli-born, Berlin-based pianist, the Czech mezzo brings a characteristically varied programme, with songs from her homeland as well as the German, Russian and Hungarian traditions. Having previously championed the music of her compatriot Bohuslav Martinů, she includes a song collection (1942) written during his American exile that was also a favourite of exiled foriegn minister and fine amateur pianist Jan Masaryk.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Meine Liebe ist grün Op. 63 No. 5
      • Nachtigall Op. 97 No. 1
      • Verzagen Op. 72 No. 4
      • Anklänge Op. 7 No. 3
      • Das Mädchen spricht Op. 107 No. 3
      • Unbewegte laue Luft Op. 57 No. 8
      • Ach, wende diesen Blick Op. 57 No. 4
      • Vergebliches Ständchen Op. 84 No. 4
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Evening Songs Op. 3
        • When I was gazing
        • The soughing of the trees
        • I am that knight of fairy tale
        • When God was in a happy mood
        • I dreamt that you were dead
  • Interval
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959)
      • New Chap-Book H288
  • Modest Musorgsky (1839-1881)
      • The Nursery
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
      • Falun (Village Scenes) BB87a

We also recommend