Monday 5 June 2017 1:00PM

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Tomkins, Farnaby, Cowell, WF Bach and Reich


  • Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Mahan Esfahani’s programme explores multiple approaches to creative fantasy, from the imposing Pavan by Thomas Tomkins to Henry Cowell’s virtuosic Set of Four, written in 1960 for Ralph Kirkpatrick and complete with a left-hand trill in octaves.

There’s wit, too, in the form of WF Bach’s Sonata and unstoppable rhythmic energy in Reich’s pulsating Piano Phase.

  • BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert
  • Thomas Tomkins (1572-1656)
        • Pavan in A minor
  • Giles Farnaby (c.1563-1640)
        • Woody-Cock
  • Henry Cowell (1897-1965)
        • Set of Four
  • Wilhelm Friedemann Bach (1710-1784)
        • Sonata in E flat major
  • Steve Reich (b.1936)
        • Piano Phase (arr. Mahan Esfahani)

We also recommend