Monday 14 June 2021 1:00PM

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord, piano; Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano

Dowland, Louis Andriessen, Martinu and more


Watch this concert in HD video until 14 July 2021: Watch

Download the PDF programme here and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Mahan Esfahani harpsichord, piano
  • Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano

Mahan Esfahani performs on both harpsichord and piano today for a programme with mezzo-soprano Dame Sarah Connolly, which concludes with Sir Michael Tippett’s Songs for Ariel, three works written to accompany the Old Vic’s production of Shakespeare’s The Tempest in 1962.

  • Louis Andriessen (b.1939)
      • Overture to Orpheus
  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
      • Come, heavy sleep
        • (arranged by Paul Max Edlin)
  • Purcell (1659-1695)
      • O solitude, my sweetest choice Z406
        • (realised by Benjamin Britten)
      • We sing to him whose wisdom form'd the ear Z199
        • (realised by Benjamin Britten)
      • The Fairy Queen Z629
        • One charming night (realised by Benjamin Britten)
      • I take no pleasure in the sun's bright beams Z388
        • (realised by Benjamin Britten)
  • Wilhelm Friedemann Bach (1710-1784)
      • Sonata in E flat
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959)
      • Two Pieces for harpsichord
  • Michael Tippett (1905-1998)
      • Songs for Ariel

We also recommend