Friday 23 July 2021 1:00PM

Marcus Farnsworth baritone; James Cheung piano

Britten, Finzi, Moeran and Vaughan Williams


Download the PDF programme here and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Marcus Farnsworth baritone
  • James Cheung piano

This lunchtime concert, Baritone Marcus Farnsworth presents English folksong by some of Britain’s best-loved 20th-century composers including a collection Ernest Moeran gathered during his time in East Anglia. Also included in this programme is Gerald Finzi’s settings of Shakespeare texts which premiered on 12 October 1942, the 70th birthday of Ralph Vaughan Williams, and the cycle is dedicated to him.

  • Ernest John Moeran (1894-1950)
      • Six Folksongs from Norfolk
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
      • 4 Poems by Fredegond Shove
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Vol. 4 Moore's Irish Melodies
        • How sweet the Answer
        • At the mid hour of night
        • The last rose of summer
  • Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
      • Let us garlands bring Op. 18

We also recommend