Saturday 24 July 2021 1:00PM

Maria Włoszczowska violin; Katya Apekisheva piano

Franck, Janácek and Ysaÿe


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Maria Włoszczowska violin
  • Katya Apekisheva piano

The Polish violinist and Russian pianist join together for a lunchtime recital spanning 28 years, from one of César Frank’s best-known compositions full of his rich native harmonic language, to Janáček’s sonata that he was writing during World War I. The composer wrote of the work, ‘ the 1914 Sonata for violin and piano I could just about hear sound of the steel clashing in my troubled head...’

  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • Violin Sonata
  • Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931)
      • Rêve d'enfant Op. 14
  • César Franck (1822-1890)
      • Sonata in A for violin and piano

We also recommend