Wednesday 24 July 2019 7:30PM

Mark Padmore tenor; Paul Lewis piano

Brahms, Mahler and Schumann


Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • Mark Padmore tenor
  • Paul Lewis piano

The German poet Heinrich Heine provides the beginning and end of this programme by two formidable musicians, beginning with a selection of Brahms’s Heine settings and ending with Schumann’s famous cycle in a ‘historically correct version’ (with four additional songs).

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Es liebt sich so lieblich im Lenze Op. 71 No. 1
        • Sommerabend Op. 85 No. 1
        • Mondenschein Op. 85 No. 2
        • Es schauen die Blumen Op. 96 No. 3
        • Meerfahrt Op. 96 No. 4
        • Der Tod, das ist die kühle Nacht Op. 96 No. 1
  • Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
        • Rückert Lieder
  • Interval
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Dichterliebe Op. 48 ('historically correct version' with four extra songs)

Related Series

We also recommend