Friday 20 July 2018 7:00PM

Members of Britten Sinfonia; Nicholas Daniel oboe

Michael Berkeley 70th Birthday Concert


Please note the starting time is 7:00pm


  • Members of Britten Sinfonia
  • Nicholas Daniel oboe

Composer and broadcaster Michael Berkeley has delighted millions with his award-winning Private Passions series on BBC Radio 3 and been an eloquent champion of British music and musicians.

Wigmore Hall celebrates his 70th birthday with an evening of his chamber works.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Grosse Fuge in B flat major Op. 133
  • Michael Berkeley (b.1948)
        • Peleus and Thetis [1]
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Quartettsatz in C minor D703
  • Interval
  • Michael Berkeley
        • Into the Ravine
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Metamorphosen for string septet
  1. Commissioned by Wigmore Hall

We also recommend